UP electorate favour only 5 of 8 kin of former CMs, PM



The just-concluded Uttar Pradesh polls turned out to be a litmus test for family members of former chief ministers and even of a former prime minister, with the electorate favouring only five of the eight candidates who were in the fray.

Barring three such candidates who lost, there were five candidates in whose favour the voters gave their historic verdict.

In all there were seven candidates, who had direct link with outgoing chief minister Akhilesh Yadav or other former chief ministers.

Siddharth Nath Singh, who contested on a BJP ticket from Allahabad West Assembly constituency, is the grandson of former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri.

Party-wise, the BJP had fielded five such candidates. They are Rita Joshi from Lucknow Cantonment, Sandeep Kumar Singh from Atrauli, Pankaj Singh from Noida and Siddhartha Nath Singh from Allahabad West.

From the Samajwadi Party, there were three such candidates. They were Shivpal Yadav from Jaswantnagar (brother of former UP CM Mulayam Singh Yadav and uncle of incumbent UP CM Akhilesh Yadav), Aparna Yadav from Lucknow Cantonment (the younger daughter-in-law of Mulayam) and Anurag Yadav (cousin of UP CM Akhliesh Yadav).

Apart from this, Lalitesh Pati Tripathi, the great grandson of former UP CM Kamlapati Tripathi, also contested on a Congress ticket from Mariharan Assembly constituency.

The candidates who won this time were Rita Bahuguna Joshi, daughter of former UP CM Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna. She defeated Aparna Yadav, Mulayam’s younger ’bahu’, in the Lucknow Cantonment constituency.

Aparna made her debut in electoral politics this year, while the former UP Congress chief, Joshi, Joshi contested on a BJP ticket.

In Atrauli, the bastion of former UP CM Kalyan Singh, his grandson Sandeep Kumar Singh contested on a BJP ticket and defeated SP’s Viresh Yadav.

Pankaj Singh, son of Union Home Minister and former UP CM Rajnath Singh, who contested from Noida defeated SP’s Sunil Choudhary by a huge margin of 1,04,016 votes.
Senior BJP Siddhartha Nath Singh, who is the grandson of former PM Lal Bahadur Shastri contested this assembly election from Allahabad West and defeated BSP’s sitting MLA Pooja Pal.

Jaswantnagar, the bastion of SP, saw senior leader and former UP Cabinet minister Shivpal Yadav retaining the seat.

The assembly constituency of Jaswantnagar was represented by Mulayam who had won the seat first time in 1967. Winning it eight times — losing on two occasions — he left it for Shivpal, who has won it continuously since 1996.

In Sarojini Nagar assembly constituency, on the outskirts of Lucknow , BJP’s Swati Singh defeated Anurag Yadav of SP by a margin of 34,179 votes. Anurag Yadav is Mulayam’s nephew.

Congress candidate from Marihan Lalitesh Pati Tripathi, the great grandson of former UP CM Kamlapati Tripathi, lost to BJP’s Rama Shankar Singh.

Write your Comments on this Article

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Konkanworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article. Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on Konkanworld.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request. Hence, sending offensive comments using Konkanworld.com will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Konkanworld.com be held responsible. Similarly, Konkanworld.com reserves the right to edit / block / delete the messages without notice any content received from readers.

  • Konkan World
  • Stay Connected
  • Facebook Google+ Twitter YouTube

KONKAN WORLD offers accurate, up-to-date, a large collection of videos from KONKAN WORLD VIDEOS and indulge in fun you will not find else where!.
© Copyright 2014 Konkanworld media Inc