Ashwini for KAA top post


Dr G Parameshwara, the current president, who had put his name for the top post again, withdrew on Thursday, the last day to file the nominations. Parameshwara, president of KAA since 2004, was not eligible to contest as he had already completed 12 years in the post. 

The KAA in 2015 had amended its constitution, in line with the Sports Code, and according to the changed rule, a president could hold office for a maximum period of 12 years with or without a break. 

Also contesting for the president’s post against Ashwini, who currently heads the Bangalore Urban District Athletics Association (BUDAA), will be HT Mahadev, secretary, Hassan District Athletics Association. 

For the secretary’s post, Rajavelu, from the Shimoga District Athletics Association, will be Ashwini’s opponent. Sources said that the incumbent KAA secretary, Chandrashekar Rai, eligible for another term, had not filed his nomination for the post. 

The KAA used to have a three-year term for its office-bearers but as per the amended constitution of the body, they will have a four-year term from now on. 

The secretary and treasurer may serve a maximum of two successive terms of four years each. After which, they need to serve a cooling off period of four years before they can seek fresh election to either post.

As per the Sports Code, the office-bearers will cease to hold the post on attaining 70 years of age.

The elections will be at the Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) on July 1. 
The KAA had come under fire from the district units for not holding the AGM and elections on time last month. After the notification for election was issued on June 8, the list of eligible candidates was published on June 19. The scrutiny of the candidates will be done on Saturday and the last date for withdrawal of names is next Monday. 

Unhappy members

It was learnt that some of the members who had thrown in their names for the elections were not happy with some of the contestents. 

As per the tradition, the clubs across the states will not be allowed to vote and only the 28 district associations will participate in the elections. Udupi, due to the in-fighting in its faction, has been disqualified from voting. 

Apart from president and secretary, the elections will be held for the posts of senior vice-president, four vice-presidents, senior joint secretary, joint secretary (3 posts) and treasurer. 

Write your Comments on this Article

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article. Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request. Hence, sending offensive comments using will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible. Similarly, reserves the right to edit / block / delete the messages without notice any content received from readers.

  • Konkan World
  • Stay Connected
  • Facebook Google+ Twitter YouTube

KONKAN WORLD offers accurate, up-to-date, a large collection of videos from KONKAN WORLD VIDEOS and indulge in fun you will not find else where!.
© Copyright 2014 Konkanworld media Inc